Fixed bitmap font on Xwindows/ Linux / Debian howto

I’ve got a Lenovo x230 and it has a crappy 1366×768 screen. I remember macbook retinas when mines are burning. I didn’t even buy the IPS version because I’ve a 3M privacy filter (it makes the IPS screen pointless) and because I bought it second hand so It came with it.

I wanted crystal clear fonts like on Windows 9x. Windows uses 96dpi fixed fonts (per default) and I also have them on Linux but they do not show up on the font menus.

xterm uses “Fixed SemiCondensed 10 bitmap font” and no other monospace font looks great on my screen. I wanted to use other tabbed terminals with the same font.

I tested envy-r, inconsolata, consolas, droid… they all take more space than the fixed semicondensed or/and are unreadable when using the same size.
I tried all those and more ( http://www.webupd8.org/2010/07/7-of-best-ubuntu-terminal-fixed-width.html )

This is how to make the Fixed SemiCondensed font available to all programs on Debian 8. Then you can choose when to use it, it doesn’t make it the default font, it just leaves it available.

I put that font to nearly everything and I love it. I only need other fonts inside the web browser

# cat /etc/fonts/conf.d/70-no-bitmaps.conf

rejectfont
patelt name=”scalable” false

# mv /etc/fonts/conf.d/70-no-bitmaps.conf ~/

# fc-cache -f -v

Most programs will see the font instantly without X logout but some wont.

Responder

